fbpx

Zigbee - The king of all lights

homee now offers 6 different cubes that can make your home smarter, more comfortable and secure . The number of devices and technologies supported by homee grows with (almost) every update - because we are constantly working on the integration of new devices. This load of technology, concepts, and devices can be overwhelming for smart home beginners. That is why we bring a little light into the smart darkness. So you are fully informed and can make a conscious decision when buying your smart home. 

In this series, we will introduce you to our various cubes - and thus the wireless standards - in more detail. 

We start with our orange cube, the Zigbee Cube. 

What is Zigbee? 

Zigbee is a name for a radio technology that was founded in 2002 by the Zigbee Alliance. The Zigbee Alliance is a group of more than 250 companies creating, maintaining, and delivering open, global standards for the Internet of Things (IoT). Relevant fact, Amazon is on the board of the Allianz, and of course Alexa uses Zigbee Technology.The first Zigbee products came onto the market in early 2005. 

Zigbee includes many different devices from a wide variety of manufacturers. The aim is to implement complete home automation using a system in which all sensors (transmitters) and actuators (receivers) can communicate with this control unit. 

Zigbee is an open radio standard. Open radio standard, which means that every manufacturer can adapt its products to this standard. However, there are a few guidelines that must be followed. For example, all devices must be combinable so that different manufacturers and products can be used.

Zigbee is particularly used in the lighting sector and is used by large companies such as IKEA, Philips, and Osram .

Register here and don't miss out any updates

Radio technology

Zigbee is a standardized radio system, a kind of “language” through which the devices speak to each other. Just like your cell phone used to send data back and forth via Bluetooth, Zigbee devices exchange data with each other and to the smart home gateway using the Zigbee radio protocol. Our Zigbee Cube uses this wireless technology and integrates it into your smart home.

Zigbee transmits on the 2.4 GHz frequency band. All communication is encrypted. However, the encryption is not as secure as with the new Z-Wave S2 standard. The transmission of the radio protocol is encrypted with 128 bits in accordance with the AES-CCM algorithm. 

It is not possible to control your Zigbee devices directly from your mobile phone.

Zigbee Pros

The range of Zigbee is only limited (mostly to 10 to 20 meters), but the radio system uses a so-called one Mesh network. This means that the range is increased with each integrated Zigbee device - under ideal conditions up to 100 meters. For example, if the Smart Home Hub cannot establish a direct connection to the Zigbee lamp (because it is too far away), the connection can be forwarded to the lamp via another Zigbee device in the vicinity of the lamp, and voila! You can controll your lamp this way. 

In contrast to WiFi or Bluetooth devices, Zigbee devices are extreme energy efficient. This efficiency makes them particularly suitable for battery-operated devices, because they can run for years without having to change the battery.

Compared to EnOcean, Z-Wave or WLAN devices, Zigbee devices are usually not expensive. Due to the wide range of possible uses and the low price, it is easy to build a home automation system largely on Zigbee devices. But honestly, lighting is still Zigbee´s thing.

I want to buy my Zigbee Cube now!

And maybe other smart home products.

I want to buy my Zigbee Cube now!

And maybe other smart home products.
EnOcean Pros and Cons

Zigbee Cons

Communication is encrypted, but not as secure as with other radio systems. As a result, Zigbee is not as well represented in the security industry. 

In addition, the wireless range is not that high without a mesh network.



Our Zigbee Cube connects

With the Zigbee Cube from homee you connect a wide variety of brands such as Philips, IKEA, Osram and many more. With this cube there will be no more limits to lighting control, select the devices you like from different brans, and in connection with our other cubes (EnOcean, Z-Wave, Hörmann BiSecur, WAREMA WMS) you can control a large selection of devices from different radio technologies and brands via one system - one app - the homee app.

Here you come directly to our Zigbee Cube.

If you have any questions or suggestions, you can join our great homee here Community connect, or send a question to support@homee.de send. Together we can make every house smarter.

Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on facebook

Melde dich jetzt zum Newsletter an und erhalte einen 10 Euro Gutschein!

Der Mindestbestellwert beträgt 100 Euro. Der Gutscheincode ist nur einmalig pro Kunde und Kauf gültig.

fbpx

Zigbee – Der König aller Lichter

Mittlerweile bietet homee 6 verschiedene Würfel, mit denen dein Zuhause noch smarter, komfortabler oder schöner wird. Und die Anzahl der von homee unterstützten Geräte und Techniken wächst mit (fast) jedem Update – denn wir arbeiten ständig an der Integration neuer Geräte. Diese geballte Ladung an Technik und Geräten kann für Smart Home Einsteiger schon mal überfordernd sein.  Deswegen bringen wir ein wenig Licht ins smarte Dunkel . So bist du rundum informiert und kannst beim Kauf deines Smart Homes eine bewusste Entscheidung treffen. 

In dieser kleinen Serie stellen wir dir unsere verschiedenen Würfel – und damit die Funkstandards – etwas genauer vor. 

Den Anfang macht unser orangenen Würfel, der Zigbee Cube. 

Was ist Zigbee? 

Zigbee ist ein Name für eine Funktechnologie, die 2002 von der Zigbee Allianz gegründet wurde. Die Zigbee Allianz ist ein Zusammenschluss von mehr als 250 Unternehmen. Mittlerweile sitzt sogar Amazon mit im Vorstand der Allianz. Erste Zigbee-Produkte kamen Anfang 2005 auf den Markt. 

Zigbee umfasst viele verschiedene Geräte der unterschiedlichsten Hersteller. Ziel ist es, die komplette Hausautomation über ein System zu realisieren, in dem alle Sensoren (Sender) und Aktoren (Empfänger) mit dieser Steuereinheit kommunizieren können. 

Bei Zigbee handelt es sich um einen offenen Funkstandard. Offener Funkstandard bedeutet, dass jeder Hersteller seine Produkte an diesen Standard anpassen kann. Dabei müssen aber einige Richtlinien befolgt werden. Zum Beispiel müssen alle Geräte kombinierbar sein, sodass man auf unterschiedliche Hersteller und Produkte zurückgreifen kann.

Besonders in der Beleuchtung ist Zigbee sehr stark vertreten und wird von großen Firmen wie IKEA, Philips, oder Osram verwendet.

Melde dich hier an und verpasse keine Informationen und Neuigkeiten mehr

Funktechnologie

Zigbee ist ein standardisiertes Funksystem, eine Art “Sprache” über welche die Geräte miteinander sprechen. Genau wie dein Handy früher Daten über Bluetooth hin- und hergeschickt hat, tauschen Zigbee-Geräte Daten über das Funkprotokoll Zigbee untereinander und zum Smart Home Gateway aus. Unser Zigbee Cube nutzt diese Funktechnologie und integriert sie in dein Smart Home.

Zigbee funkt auf dem 2,4 GHz Frequenzband. Die komplette Kommunikation wird verschlüsselt. Die Verschlüsselung ist allerdings nicht so sicher wie beim neuen Z-Wave S2 Standard. Die Übertragung des Funkprotokolls ist gemäß AES-CCM-Algorithmus mit 128 Bit verschlüsselt. 

Es ist nicht möglich, deine Zigbee-Geräte direkt über dein Handy anzusteuern.

Vorteile von Zigbee

Die Reichweite von Zigbee ist nur begrenzt (meistens auf 10 bis20 Meter), das Funksystem nutzt allerdings ein sogenanntes Mesh-Netzwerk. Das bedeutet, dass die Reichweite mit jedem eingebundenen Zigbee-Gerät erhöht wird – unter idealen Bedingungen bis zu 100 Meter. Wenn Beispielsweise der Smart Home Hub keine direkte Verbindung zur Zigbee-Lampe herstellen kann (weil sie zu weit entfernt ist), kann die Verbindung über ein weiteres Zigbee-Gerät in der Nähe zur Lampe  weitergeleitet und die Lampe so gesteuert werden. 

Zigbee-Geräte sind im Gegensatz zu WLAN oder Bluetooth Geräten äußerst energieeffizient. Aufgrund dieser Effizienz sind sie besonders gut für batteriebetriebene Geräte geeignet, denn sie können jahrelang ohne Batteriewechsel laufen.

Im Vergleich zu EnOcean-, Z-Wave- oder WLAN Geräten sind Zigbee Geräte sehr preiswert. Durch die vielfältigen Einsatzmöglichkeiten und den geringen Preis ist es einfach, eine Hausautomation größtenteils auf Zigbee-Geräten aufzubauen.

Ich möchte jetzt meinen Zigbee Cube kaufen!

Und vielleicht andere Smart Home Produkte.

Ich möchte jetzt meinen Zigbee Cube kaufen!

Und vielleicht andere Smart Home Produkte.
EnOcean Pros and Cons

Nachteile von Zigbee

Die Kommunikation ist zwar verschlüsselt, ist aber nicht so sicher wie bei anderen Funksystemen. Dadurch ist Zigbee in der Sicherheitsbranche nicht so stark vertreten. 

Außerdem ist die Funkreichweite ohne Mesh Netzwerk nicht so hoch.



Unser Zigbee Cube verbindet

Mit dem Zigbee Cube von homee verbindest du die verschiedensten Marken wie Philips, IKEA, Osram und viele mehr. Der Lichtsteuerung werden in Zukunft keine Grenzen mehr gesetzt und in Verbindung mit unseren anderen Cubes (EnOcean, Z-Wave, Hörmann BiSecur, WAREMA WMS) kannst du die unterschiedlichsten Geräte der verschiedensten Funkprotokolle und Marken über ein System steuern.

Hier kommst du direkt zu unserem Zigbee Cube.

Wenn du noch offenen Fragen oder Anregungen hast, kannst du dich hier unserer großen homee Community anschließen, oder eine Fragen an support@homee.de schicken. Gemeinsam machen wir jedes Haus Intelligenter.

Auf linkedin teilen
Auf email teilen
Auf facebook teilen

Melde dich jetzt zum Newsletter an und erhalte einen 10 Euro Gutschein!

Der Mindestbestellwert beträgt 100 Euro. Der Gutscheincode ist nur einmalig pro Kunde und Kauf gültig.